Scott Brady

Turning competitors into a revenue sources

Pay-N-Pak

Pay-N-Pak – No matter what people may have perceived of the store’s selection it was one of the most tightly run ‘ships’ I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with; I learned a couple of important lessons in the position early in my career.

  • Steps to closing a sale can vary from company to company, I learned to only recognize five; some companies try to teach as many as nine. All start out the same however; it’s the introduction.
  • The another lesson was that no matter what your promised corporate executives, even just one can undermine the company’s  future.

Turning the looky-loo into a cash cow

A casually dressed couple standing near were looking at bath tubs. I approached and asked if they needed any help. They politely responded, “No we’re just looking.” I went back to what I was doing, checking for stock shortages, and thinking about what I just did/said I shook my head at myself. Recognizing my mistake I went back and apologized for interrupting their discussion and asked what they were working on. Turned out they were not looking for a bathtub; they were looking for two because they were doing an addition, and wanted to upgrade the other to match the quality.

Explaining I’ve had a private tour the Kohler plant in Wisconsin. I explained the quality differences between Kohler and Eljer, and the other products that made up the bathroom, and closed the sale with a total of 3800 dollars. Never underestimate anyone was a lesson I still firmly believe in.

Corporate betrayal by a CEO

Pay-N-Pak had a reinvestment program very similar to what Lowes has. The CEO David Heerensperger

Excerpt from ‘Thurman the first do-it-yourselfer’

“…the partnership between Thurman and Heerensperger soured as Pay ‘N Pak ran aground. Folks in the home-improvement industry – which I wrote about for five years at National Home Center News – still argue about who killed Pay ‘N Pak. In a lawsuit that stretched into the 1990s, Heerensperger was officially absolved of responsibility. But the bad feelings between Thurman and Heerensperger remained.” – Puget Sound Business Journal by Carol Tice Date: Sunday, July 22, 2001, 9:00pm PDT

The court ruled in favor of Heerensperger however questionable. He did use the stock options which are similar to Lowe’s to create a cash flow situation that the company couldn’t recover from.

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2011 by in Pay N' Pak.

KISS

See my facebook page for more...

Keep It Simple Silly!

Reach

A 'Closer'

Were your increases +5%